Please upgrade your browser.

Go to to download IE 11 or M.

2018 Awards of Excellence Reception

Tuesday, 04.16.2019

6:00 pm - 8:30 pm

The Commerce Club

49th Floor, 191 Peachtree Street NE
Atlanta, GA 30303

Our presenting partners this year are the Department of Journalism at the University of Georgia’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication and its William S. Morris Chair in News Strategy and Management held by Dr. Keith Herndon.


Finalists have been chosen for the 2018 Atlanta Press Club Awards of Excellence. The finalists are Atlanta-area journalists who have been selected because of their exceptional work throughout 2018.

Members of the National Press Club, the Alaska Press Club and Investigative Reporters and Editors judged the entries to determine the finalists and winners.

Winners of each category will be announced on Tuesday, April 16 at the Commerce Club. A cocktail reception begins at 6 p.m. and winners will be announced beginning at 7 p.m. Thomas Wheatley, Atlanta Magazine, will be the emcee. Tickets to the 2018 Awards of Excellence reception are $30 for Atlanta Press Club members and $40 for non-members. Tickets may be purchased here.

2018 Awards of Excellence Finalists

Print/Online – Daily
• Josh Green – Curbed Atlanta
• Joshua Sharpe – The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
• Holly Yan – CNN

Print/Online – Non-daily
• Max Blau – Independent (Atlanta Magazine, Bitter Southerner, Politico)
• Jessica Noll – WXIA
• Christine Van Dusen – Atlanta Magazine

• Martha Dalton – WABE
• Shawn Efran, John Carlos Frey, Greg Gilderman, Solly Granatstein, Neil Katz and Marisa Venegas – The Weather Channel Digital and Telemundo with Efran Films
• Molly Samuel – WABE

TV Reporting
• Dakin Andone, Meridith Edwards, Dianne Gallagher and Dom Swann – CNN
• Faith Abubey and Luke Carter – WXIA
• Randy Travis – Fox5

• Niki Budnick – The Weather Channel Digital
• Meridith Edwards, Dianne Gallagher, John Rubenstahl and Dom Swann – CNN
• Josh Wade – WSB-TV

Radio Reporting
• Grant Blankenship – Georgia Public Broadcasting
• Johnny Kauffman – WABE
• Stephannie Stokes – WABE

Use of Sound
• Sean Powers – Georgia Public Broadcasting
• Molly Samuel – WABE
• Nick Valencia – CNN

Single Image Photo
• Lashley John – Zeriba Media
• Phil Mosier – Atlanta Senior Life
• John Spink – The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Photo Gallery
• Noah Berger, Nicole Bonaccorso, Patty Cox, Yagazie Emezi, Edmund D. Fountain, Bear Gutierrez, Kevin Hayes, Spike Johnson, Frederick Meza, Euna Park and Liz Roll – The Weather Channel Digital and individual collaborations with Food & Environment Reporting Network and InsideClimate News

Investigative Reporting
• The Atlanta Journal-Constitution and WSB-TV
• Johnny Kauffman and Angela Caputo – WABE
• Ashley Fantz, Sergio Hernandez and Sonam Vashi – CNN

Rising Star
• Evelyn Andrews – Reporter Newspapers
• Stephen Fowler – Georgia Public Broadcasting
• Stephannie Stokes – WABE

Reporting on Civil and Human Rights
• Victor Blackwell, Eliott C. McLaughlin and Devon M. Sayers – CNN
• David Brooks, Luke Carter, Erika Palmer and Jeff Reid – WXIA
• Shawn Efran, John Carlos Frey, Greg Gilderman, Solly Granatstein, Neil Katz and Marisa Venegas – The Weather Channel Digital and Telemundo with Efran Films
• Karyn Greer – CBS46

News Innovation Award – in partnership with the Department of Journalism at Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, the University of Georgia)
• WSB Radio
• Meridith Edwards, Dianne Gallagher, Eliott McLaughlin, William Walker – CNN
• Jessica Noll – WXIA
(This category is judged by Google News Initiative, which has a mission of fostering journalism innovation.)

Additionally, the Atlanta Press Club is proud to honor the 2018 Impact Award recipients, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution and WSB-TV, for their collaborative work on a story exposing violations of Georgia’s Open Records laws leading to Atlanta adopting a new transparency ordinance.

The winner of the Atlanta Press Club Impact Award is based in Georgia (not necessarily a journalist) and made a significant impact on the journalism profession in the previous calendar year. The winner also furthered the mission of the APC, which is focused on fostering journalistic excellence and advancing the public’s understanding of a free press.


Tuesday, April 16
6 p.m. — Registration
7 p.m. — Reception begins


The Commerce Club
49th Floor
191 Peachtree Street NE
Atlanta, GA 30303

Dress at The Commerce Club is business or business casual attire.

The ticket price does not include parking. Parking is available in the 191 Building parking deck with entrances on Ellis Street and Peachtree Center Avenue. Discounted parking vouchers for this deck will be available for $15 at the event. Guests must bring the ticket they receive upon entering the deck to receive a discount. The Peachtree Center MARTA station is also conveniently located nearby.


APC Member Ticket — $30
Nonmember Ticket — $40

Not a member? Click here for more information.

Tickets may be purchased online or by calling 404-577-7377. Payment must accompany reservations and there is a 48 business-hour cancellation policy.