Please upgrade your browser.

Go to to download IE 11 or M.

Awards & Hall of Fame

Our community takes the time to recognize top leaders within our industry. For more than 50 years we’ve fostered and awarded journalistic excellence to distinguish outstanding individuals who uphold the highest standards of the press.

Hall of Fame Awards of Excellence

Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame is an annual event that recognizes journalists for their lifetime achievements, whose careers represent the highest standards of journalistic integrity and ethics. They have made outstanding contributions either to journalism in Georgia, the country and the world at large, often courageously overcoming many obstacles to pursue, find and share the truth.

2017 Inductees

Doug Blackmon, former Wall Street Journal Atlanta bureau chief and 2009 Pulitzer Prize winner for General Nonfiction for Slavery by Another Name: The Re-Enslavement of Black Americans from the Civil War to World War II, introduced by former acting attorney general Sally Yates.


Fred Kalil, sports director at CBS46, introduced by Atlanta Falcons’ president and CEO Rich McKay.


Aubrey Morris (1922- 2010), WSB Radio’s first news director, introduced by WSB Radio host of Atlanta’s Morning News Scott Slade.


Cynthia Tucker, former editorial page editor for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and winner of the 2007 Pulitzer Prize for Commentary, introduced by veteran WSB-TV anchor Monica Pearson.


Past Inductees

Awards of Excellence

Each year, the Awards of Excellence recognizes journalists for their work during the previous calendar year. Journalists may enter themselves or be nominated by someone else. Entries are judged on quality of content, demonstrated reportorial skill and the impact of their work.

Jeremy Campbell, Erin Gutierrez, Matt Livingston, Lauren Rudeseal and Blis Savidge, 11Alive

Documentary or Series

Kait Parker, Marcus Stern and Spencer Wilking, The Weather Channel