Please upgrade your browser.

Go to to download IE 11 or M.

The 2023 Atlanta Press Club Hall of Fame

Thursday, 11.16.2023

6:00 pm - 9:30 pm

InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta

3315 Peachtree Street NE
Atlanta, GA 30326

Five distinguished journalists will be inducted in the Atlanta Press Club Hall of Fame on Thursday, November 16, during a ceremony at the InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta. The Hall of Fame dinner is Atlanta media’s biggest night of the year and recognizes journalists who have made a significant impact on journalism in Georgia and around the country. We hope you will join us!

2023 Inductees 

Patricia Janiot is a familiar and highly respected figure in international news, known to millions of viewers across the U.S. and Latin America as the face of CNN en Español. Her distinguished career at the cable network has spanned almost 27 years, during which she first co-anchored the primetime newscast Noticiero Telemundo-CNN on Telemundo Network, then moved on to CNN, and later became CNN en Español’s senior anchor. After leaving CNN, Janiot joined Univision as co-anchor of the late-night network newscast, “Noticiero Univision Edición Nocturna.” She also served as co-anchor for the weekly primetime newsmagazine “Aquí y Ahora” (Here and Now). During her 38 years in journalism, Janiot has received numerous accolades for her journalistic achievements, including three Emmy Awards. Janiot has now retired from the news studios to begin a new chapter as an entrepreneur. She is about to publish her first book and has her own YouTube weekly program.

Corey G. Johnson is an investigative reporter for ProPublica and for nearly 20 years has specialized in public service journalism. Before joining ProPublica, Corey created and led the Tampa Bay Times’ project “Poisoned.” The investigation triggered three government investigations, many of which are ongoing. Before the Times, Johnson was a reporter at The Marshall Project and also worked at the Center for Investigative Reporting in California. In 2022, Johnson won the Pulitzer Prize for Investigative Reporting and he’s been honored with numerous awards in print journalism, including the George Polk Award, the Gerald Loeb Award, the Worth Bingham Award, two IRE Gold Medals, the News Leader Award, the Scripps Howard Award, a National Headliners, and a Salute to Excellence Award from the National Association of Black Journalists. He’s a proud native Atlantan and a co-founder of the Ida B. Wells Society, which teaches investigative craft to aspiring and mid-career journalists of color.

Robin Meade is best known as the long-time host of HLN’s “Morning Express with Robin Meade,” a New York Times best-selling author & winner of the prestigious Gracie Award for Outstanding Anchor. Broadcasting from the CNN Center in Atlanta since 2001, Meade is regarded as the longest-running anchor of a national morning news show. Among her notable assignments during a 21-year run: jumping out of a perfectly good plane with President George H.W. Bush on live TV for his 85th birthday, covering the inauguration of President Obama and President Trump on location respectively, and the exclusive first interview with freed U.S. hostages from FARC captors in Columbia. She was the face of the network’s daily “Salute To Troops” segment and hosted “Accent Health” with Dr. Sanjay Gupta on Turner Private Networks. Known for her cheery “Morning Sunshine!” greetings, Meade’s alarm rang at 3 a.m. on weekdays so she could be in the anchor chair by 6 a.m. for a marathon four-hour live show. While most other national morning shows were coming out of New York, “Morning Express with Robin Meade” was based out of Atlanta, a differentiation Meade relished.

Jack Nelson was a Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative reporter, author, and longtime Washington bureau chief for the Los Angeles Times born in Talladega, Alabama. After graduating from high school, Nelson began his journalism career with the Biloxi Daily Herald. He then worked for the U.S. Army writing press releases before taking a job with the Atlanta Constitution in 1952. In 1960, he won a Pulitzer for a series of articles that revealed inhumane practices at a mental hospital in Milledgeville, GA. Nelson was recruited to the Los Angeles Times in 1965. In the early 1970s, Nelson led the LA Times’s award-winning coverage of the Watergate scandal, and then served as the paper’s Washington Bureau Chief for 21 years, from 1975 to 1996. During that period, he was a frequent guest on television and radio news programs. He remained the paper’s chief Washington correspondent until retiring in 2001. Nelson died of pancreatic cancer at his home in Bethesda, Maryland on October 21, 2009, ten days after his 80th birthday.

Scott Slade has been on the air since January 1970, with all but ten of his 53 years in radio spent in Georgia. He recently stepped back from daily hosting “Atlanta’s Morning News” on WSB Radio but remains with the station for special assignments such as his “Scott Slade’s Georgia” weekly segment. He was born at Emory, grew up in Griffin, and is a Georgia State University Distinguished Alumni. He began his radio career at the age of 15, winning his first Associated Press award in 1971 while still a teen for “News Interpretation.” Slade is a rare, two-time winner of the National Association of Broadcasters Marconi Award as Best Radio Personality in America, both in large and major market categories. He shares two regional Emmy Awards as host of Georgia Public Broadcasting’s “Lawmakers” program, and numerous Murrow, AP, and GAB awards. Slade was inducted into the Georgia Association of Broadcasters Hall of Fame in 2023.

Lisa Rayam, WABE will emcee the event.


Thursday, November 16th
Reception – 6 p.m.
Dinner and Ceremony- 7 p.m. – 9:30 p.m


InterContinental Buckhead Atlanta
3315 Peachtree Rd NE,
Atlanta, Georgia 30326

APC has secured a room block at the discounted rate of $289 per night plus taxes and fees. Please CLICK HERE for booking.


The Atlanta Press Club offers sponsorship opportunities and promotion for your company with this event. Please contact Paula Hovater at or 404-625-2882 for details and benefits.


Individual tickets are $75 for members and $100 for nonmembers, or purchase tables of 10 with signage for $750 for members and $1,000 for nonmembers. Tickets may be purchased online. Please email table inquiries.

Business or cocktail attire preferred.

Not a member? Click here for more information.