The 2016 Awards of Excellence Reception

2016 Awards logo


2016 Awards of Excellence Reception 

Finalists have been chosen for the 2016 Atlanta Press Club Awards of Excellence. The finalists are Atlanta-area journalists who have been selected because of their exceptional work logothroughout 2016.

Members of the National Press Club and the Alaska Press Club judged each entry to determine the finalists and winners. 

Google News Lab logo

Winners of each category will be announced on Thursday, April 13 at the Commerce Club. A cocktail reception begins at 6 p.m. and winners will be announced beginning at 7 p.m. Tickets to the 2016 Awards of Excellence reception are $30 for Atlanta Press Club members and $40 for non-members. Tickets may be purchased here.

The finalists are: 

                  Print/Online – Daily                  
Brenda Goodman, WebMD
Joshua Sharpe, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Kelly Yamanouchi, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Holly Yan, CNN 

Print/Online Nondaily
Moni Basu, CNN
Max Blau, Multiple Outlets
Josh Green, Atlanta Magazine
Catherine Shoichet and Evelio Contreras, CNN

Jeremy Campbell, Erin Gutierrez, Matt Livingston, Lauren Rudeseal, Blis Savidge, WXIA
Ryon Horne, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Don Smith, Georgia Public Broadcasting

Radio Reporting
Michael Caputo, Georgia Public Broadcasting
Bradley George, Georgia Public Broadcasting
Elly Yu, WABE

TV Reporting
Brendan Keefe, WXIA
Rebecca Lindstrom and Jon Samuels, WXIA 

Grant Blankenship and Bradley George, Georgia Public Broadcasting
Matthew Gannon and John Sutter, CNN
Ryan Horne, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Kait Parker, Marcus Stern and Spencer Wilking, The Weather Channel 

Use of Sound
Sean Powers, Georgia Public Broadcasting
Molly Samuel, WABE
Jon Samuels and Jaye Watson, WXIA
Sam Whitehead, Georgia Public Broadcasting

Single Image Photo
Bob Andres, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Curtis Compton, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
John Spink, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution 

Photo Gallery
Dustin Chambers and Camille Pendley, Atlanta Magazine
Camille Pendley, Multiple Outlets
John Spink, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Investigative Reporting
Brenda Goodman, WebMD and Andy Miller, Georgia Health News
Brendan Keefe, WXIA
James Salzer and Aaron Gould Sheinin, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution 

Rising Star
Neima Abdulahi, WXIA
Aaron Bauer, Around the Rings
Lisa Hagen, WABE

News Innovation Award
(in partnership with the Cox Institute for Journalism Innovation, Management and Leadership) This category was judged by a representative from Google News Lab.
Georgia News Lab, David Armstrong
“Doctors & Sex Abuse,” Jeff Ernsthausen, Emily Merwin and Saurabh Datar, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Brendan Keefe, WXIA


Additionally, the Atlanta Press Club is proud to honor the 2016 Impact Award recipient, Hollie Manheimer, who has served as executive director of the Georgia First Amendment Foundation for two decades. The Georgia First Amendment Foundation is dedicated to educating the public about government transparency and freedom of information.

The winner of the Atlanta Press Club Impact Award is a Georgian (not necessarily a journalist) who had a significant impact on the journalism profession in the previous calendar year and has furthered the mission of the APC, which is focused on fostering journalistic excellence and advancing the public’s understanding of a free press.